Amritpreet Singh

About Me
My name is Amritpreet Singh and I'm a 14-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 26, 2005.
I am from
Punjab
District
Tarn Taran
Community
Punjab - We ask sangat to have patience with us when it comes to Punjab because SAF is working in 120 villages of Punjab, it takes a lot to get children updates, photos, reports from schools. We mostly deal with Single mothers, farmer suicide families and other under privileged children.
Designation
Single Mother

My Story

Amritpreet Singh is 6 years old and is from the Tarn Taran district of Punjab. He loves to visit Darbar Sahib (Golden Temple) whenever he can. His favourite colour is red, he enjoys eating bananas, and he hopes to grow up and work in the army someday. Amritpreet has had to mature beyond his years, at the tender age of 6, he and his family have had to deal with his father’s personal perils of getting addicted to drugs and alcohol. His father used to be a kaveeshri (religious history teller) with his 2 brothers, unfortunately they all succumbed to abusing drugs and alcohol, which ended with one of Amritpreet’s uncles passing away in a drug rehab center. This unfortunate event has not deterred his father, and he still continues to abuse these substances, which results in absolutely no income for the family. The family is only able to survive thanks to the generosity of some family friends, who come occasionally to drop off food and other rations they may need to survive. Amritpreet’s family lives in a small 1 bedroom, 1 kitchen home, which is essentially falling apart. They have over $600 CAD in utility bills outstanding. Amritpreet’s sisters attend a government school, and his family is unable to afford tuition for Amritpreet.