Sukhdeep Kaur

About Me
My name is Sukhdeep Kaur and I'm a 10-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 1, 2008.
I am from
Punjab
District
Ludhiana
Community
Punjab - We ask sangat to have patience with us when it comes to Punjab because SAF is working in 120 villages of Punjab, it takes a lot to get children updates, photos, reports from schools. We mostly deal with Single mothers, farmer suicide families and other under privileged children.

My Story

Sukhdeep Kaur is 11 years old and is in 5th grade.  She lives in Ludhiana, Punjab with her family.  Her mother had a fall from the roof almost 14 years ago, and since then has been suffering from problems with her spinal cord, it continues to get worse and worse with time.  Sukhdeep’s mother works at home as much as she can, but is not able to do much else other than the basic housework.  Sukhdeep’s father does labour work and earns $120 CAD per month depending on if and when he can get work.  Sukhdeep’s maternal grandparents passed away some time ago, and so her family lives in their home as there was nobody to take care of the house itself.  They have two buffalo, one of which gives milk and they are able to bring in $60 CAD per month from selling the milk to a dairy. They also have 2 baby cows.  Sukhdeep’s family took a $500 CAD loan in order to pay for their children’s school fees.  The kids themselves are telling their parents to take them out of the private school and put them into government school, but their parents do not want their children’s education to suffer.  If you choose to sponsor Sukhdeep, you will alleviate the pressure off of her parents so that they do not need to borrow money from others in order to pay for their children’s education.