About Me
My name is Manpreet and I'm a 8-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 14, 2010.
I am from
Punjab
District
Ferozpur
Community
Punjab - We ask sangat to have patience with us when it comes to Punjab because SAF is working in 120 villages of Punjab, it takes a lot to get children updates, photos, reports from schools. We mostly deal with Single mothers, farmer suicide families and other under privileged children.
Designation
Single Mother

My Story

Manpreet Kaur is 8 years old and lives in Ferozepur, Punjab with her mother and 2 older sisters.  Ferozepur is on the border of India and Pakistan.  It is a very underdeveloped city, where most of the homes are composed of mud and clay.  Manpreet’s father passed away when she was just one years old in a car accident at the ripe age of 35.  He used to work as a carpenter and his workplace gave them a $2000 CAD compensation after he passed away.  Manpreet’s mother is a housewife, and so they have been relying on her husband’s compensation to survive. They have used half of the compensation over the last 8 years for their basic survival.  Manpreet’s mother is trying to save the remainder to divide between her three girls.  They do not receive any government support such as a widow’s pension, which leaves Manpreet’s mother in a helpless state.  Their living conditions are very basic.  Their home has one room, no bathroom, and their kitchen is non existent.  They have made a makeshift kitchen on the mud floor of their home. 

Your sponsorship is an important and continuing part of the assistance given to help Manpreet and her mother attain self-reliance, for this is the development in which SAF International is involved.  Nelson Mandela famously said, “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world”. And who has the power to change the world? It's the children of today, who are the adults of tomorrow.